Water achievers lauded

Posted September 25, 2015

AWA Qld Water Awards winners (2)

Winners and attendees celebrate at the Australian Water Association’s 2015 Queensland Water Awards gala dinner.


Northern engineers have featured prominently in the recent Australian Water Association Queensland awards.

Dave Brooker from Mackay Regional Council took out the Water Professional of the Year and Rob Saunders from the Townsville office of GHD won the Queensland Regional Service award.

The awards recognise and reward outstanding achievements of individuals and organisations in the Queensland water sector.

They also identify those who have displayed conspicuous service to the profession and exceptional performance in the practice of water management.

“The recipients were involved in some very important and innovative projects,” Australian Water Association Chief Executive, Jonathan McKeown said.

“I am thrilled we are able to highlight the work they do and continue to do for the sector.”

Other winners included:

  • Young Water Professional of the Year: Tim Wong - SMEC Australia
  • Undergraduate Water Prize: Scott Roy - SMEC Australia
  • Research Innovation Award: Water Literacy in Australia - The University of Queensland and Cooperative Research Centre for Water Sensitive Cities
  • Program Innovation Award: Queensland Urban Utilities Innovation Program - Queensland Urban Utilities
  • Infrastructure Project Innovation Award: Suncoast-Coolum-Maroochydore Sewage Treatment Plant Reconfiguration – Unitywater
  • Queensland  Distinguished Service Award: Associate Professor Helen Stratton - Griffith University

The winners will now go on to represent Queensland in the National Water Awards at Australia’s largest international water conference and exhibition, Ozwater, which will be held in Melbourne in May 2016.

Leave a Reply

4 − one =